The 10 Commandments Of Emotional Illiteracy 

 December 5, 2013

By  Gabriela

Emotional literacy is a skill that involves emotional intelligence (refinement in knowledge and understanding of your own and other people’s emotions), and the ability of the best way to use our emotions to increase ethical, personal and social power for our own good and for the benefit of others.

1. Put love in the heart of your emotional life. Emotional intelligence, heart oriented, gives strength to all who come in contact with it.
2. Emotional literacy requires not to lie and not to keep silent. Do not try to lie, except when your personal safety or the safety of others is in question.
3. Fight for what you want and what you love. If you do not do that, it is very unlikely that someone else will do it for you.
4. Emotional literacy requires not to manipulate others with powerful games. Politely, but persistently, look for what you need and for what you long for… until you are satisfied.
5. Do not allow others manipulate you with powerful games. Politely, but stubbornly, refuse to do anything you do not want to do, according to your own free will.

6. Follow the ideas, feelings and wishes of others – just like you respect your own. Listening to Ideas of others does not mean that you have to settle with them.
7. Apologize about your mistakes and try to fix them. Nothing will go faster than this.
8. Do not accept false apologies. They have even less value than ever…It is same as you have not received an apology at all.
9. Love yourself, the others and the truth, equally. Never sacrifice one for the other.
10. Follow these commandments according to your own. Finally, they are not carved in stone.

About the author 


A mom of two with a background in journalism, I took health into my own hands and started researching to find answers to my own health struggles. My research turned into a blog that turned into an amazing community (starring you!).When I'm not reading medical journals, creating new recipes, you can find me somewhere outside in the sun or undertaking some DIY remodeling project that inevitably takes twice as long as it was supposed to.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Subscribe to our newsletter now!